Some countries spend a lot of money on providing world class sports facilities for training talented youngesters. Is this good way or bad way to spend government money?

Sport has become one of the most important things in the world. Government invests a lot of money to train talented young athletes to compete at international events. I think it is good because they represent our country on the world stage but the negative side is the government takes funds from the average citizens. First, the number of talented youngsters is less than the number of ordinary people. We should have equal rights for social life including sport facilities because most of the citizens pay tax. Government should take care of the health and provide a good lifestyle for all citizens and not only for the sport athletes. However, our country will become well-known all over the world if the talented young athletes win the international competition. For example, Malaysian shuttler, Goh Jin Wei created history by winning a gold medal at the 2018 Youth Olympics.