Many people depend on their cars for every day, social and working needs. However, unlimited use of cars causes a number of problems. What are some of these problems? What can be done to reduce the use of cars?

A greater number of people has become totally dependent on their cars for daily necessities such as social, working and domestic needs. In my view, there could be some vital measures to tackle potential problems of this trend. The rise in the use of cars for every day basics can have detrimental effects on both individual and social spheres. On an individual level, as it requires very little physical activity – excessive driving can result in various health issues such as sedentary lifestyles, obesity and cardiovascular diseases which can ruin physical well-being of humans. On a social level, dependence on cars can contribute enormously to global warming and noise pollution. More cars mean more carbon dioxide emitted to atmosphere causing gradual increase in global warming and levels of air pollution. Moreover, large amounts of noise from cars in highways and traffic jams may arise high degrees of interrupted sleep and anxiety of people. These problems might decrease living standards by eroding people’s tranquility and happiness rates. There are several actions that governments can take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, overwhelming tax policies can be simple solution as well as artificial increase in the price of fuel. Furthermore, governments should implement specific programs discouraging the usage of cars by legally controlling personal transportation. In addition, doubling the current investment funds for public transportation would make them dominant choice for commuters. These steps can be of utmost significance in making cities better places to live by reducing extensive utilization of personal vehicles. In conclusion, problems caused by ultimate usage of cars can be solved by adopting a few changes including strict taxes, governmental programs and high cost of fuel.