Some countries nowadays, older peoplate not respected. Why is this so. What can be done to resolve this.

In some nations today, the elderly are not given adequate respect that they deserve. This essay will explain in details the reasons for this and the possible issues disrespect may cause in the society. Respect is said to be at its low rate in the new generation today. People tend to disrespect the aged because of inadequate home training. Children who lack proper home tutoring by their parents or caregivers are always on the brim of disobeying the elderly. Respect which is a virtue is instilled into individuals from childhood, and when this is not done properly or adequately, the reverse is always the case. Lack of respect could totally be dependent on busy parents, discord among parents and lack of parental guidiance. For example, a research carried out amongst Quebec students in 2006 to study the prevalance of disobedience to authority and its possible causes, it was noted that 65% of children who are disrespectful or disobedient are from either broken homes or have busy parents. Futhermore, this can result to some damage in the society. The new generation lacks the blessings and wisdom of the older citizens, because the elders are on the habit of blessing individuals who accord them maximum respect. From the biblical perspective, in Ephesians chapter six verses 1and 2, we were mandated by God to honour our parents( representatives of the elderly), so that our days might be long. Therefore, this could be the reason why longevity like in days of Abraham in the Bible has been deprived from the modern generation. In conclusion, the insufficient honour given to the elders can be caused by lack of proper home training and this will enventually lead to lack of blessings and long life to individuals in the society. However, this can be alleviated only if caregivers emulate methods of training the young from ancient parents, as they instilled respect fully to their wards.