Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world.

Importation of huge amount of food from other countries have been implemented to several countries. I believe, whilst this can be a positive trend to countries who have limited agricultural resources, this can also be a huge negative trend for the prices of food which can be an additional burden to the consumers. This essay will discuss how this is a negative trend that impacts the food buyers and local food suppliers. Food Importation hugely benefits countries, like Singapore, who have limited natural resources due to its geographical location. Singapore opted to import their supply of food from other agricultural countries such as Malaysia, Indonesia, and Cambodia. This paradigm positively impacts those agricultural countries who mainly rely in exporting their products, as this helps their economy to grow. In addition, importing agricultural products also gives a sense of food security to Singapore as they have sufficient supply coming from different parts of the world to cater for their people However, the trend of importing agricultural products also have several negative impacts. Firstly, imported products are more expensive due to the taxes imposed to them which creates burden to the consumers. Secondly, agricultural countries such as Philippines, faces stiff competition of prices between locally produced products and international products as several Filipino consumers prefer to buy foreign products rather than supporting domestic goods. Lastly, local farmers are the most affected as the competition in global market has become tougher. For example, Farmers in the Philippines lost billions of revenues due to high importation of rice in the country in order to address the rice shortage, although the Philippines is known as an agricultural country. In conclusion, although the trend of importing agricultural products may have a positive impact to Non-agricultural countries, it has a huge negative impact to the consumers as well as to the workforce of agricultural industries. In my opinion, importation can have a huge downhill impact to the consumers and farmers due to the high prices and taxes imposed to imported products.