Some countries attempt to solve the problem of traffic congestion by limiting the use of cars in the inner-city areas. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach to urban planning?

In the past 10 years, we have witnessed the large number of cars in the city center, which causes a lot of traffic problems for citizens. Therefore, the limitation of car usage is a useful way to deal with these issues. This approach has some disadvantages but, on the whole, it is a great solution for the problem of traffic in the inner-city. On the one hand, controlling the use of cars brings some benefits for people as well as for the environment. Firstly, people can save a fair amount of money when they use public transport. To illustrate, the price of buses is cheaper than that of other transportations due to using the monthly bus pass. In addition, when a lot of people take a bus, there will be fewer private vehicles traveling on the street, so traffic jams would take place less frequently. Secondly, to reduce environmental pollution, limiting the usage of cars is considered effective. Because cars burn a lot of fossil fuels, so the restriction of car usage is a useful way to lower air pollution. On the other hand, there are many negative aspects to this idea. Firstly, it can be seen clearly that restricting cars in the city center causes economic problems. Decrease the nation’s earnings because car companies will drop their production for that country and the tax revenue from the car sales will diminish automatically. Secondly, using public transportation is not convenient and safe. For instance, people with disabilities always feel self-conscious about their appearance, so they often don't feel comfortable and personal while taking buses or subways. Besides that, there are many problems that occur when using public transport such as pickpockets, groping, . . . In short, restricting car traffic in the city is a solution with both advantages and disadvantages. However, If suggestions should be implemented as soon as possible then city residents will no longer suffer traffic problems.