Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Although some companies endorse sports as a method of promoting their business. Some people are of the opinion that it is advantageous while others believe that there are problems associated with this. I consider that companies supporting sports, is a good way of gaining publicity. On the one hand, patronizing sports ensures popularity and more patronage in business and I agree. Many companies today are recognized because they sponsor numerous sports. To illustrate, today, Puma and Adidas have taken over numerous sports- outfit companies because of their devoted support for so many football teams all over the world. Therefore, businesses that sponsor sports are widely known and patronized. Secondly, companies gain a high level of trust from the masses when they sponsor sports. A popular energy drink which has been in existence since the 80’s became relevant to me when I saw Usian Bolt a marathon race champion advertise for them. Thus, giving me an assurance in the quality of their product. On the other hand, the problem associated with using sports to communicate about a product to people is that such adverts require huge amount money. It is only a financially balanced company that can embark on such endorsements. To clarify, Pepsi endorses only world’ best footballers for their advertisements, which would definitely cost them a fortune. As a result, such companies will be spending so much in promoting their business. In conclusion, while people vary in their opinion, I think companies stand a better chance to succeed when they support sports companies as a means of publicizing themselves. Although they tend to spend so much by choosing such method of publicity.