Some college students like to spend their free time studying another course or doing schoolwork. Others like to join a club and enjoy social activities. Which way do you think is better and why?

The elderly in Britain are most times accommodated in a home with other people of their age to be cared for by professional nurses. While some people are of the opinion that these homes should be funded by the government, others believe that their families should be responsible for the cost of looking after them. In my opinion, the government should pay for their care. The reasons for my view will be discussed below. It is understandable why some people will say that the families of the elderly should pay for the care they receive at the old people's home. One common reason is that the aged will feel more loved to see their relatives have regard for them. This also makes them believe that they are not abandoned or left to be taken care of by complete strangers. For example, psychologists believe that when the aged are being taken care of by their blood relations, it prolongs their life span and forestall untimely death. Another reason why they believe that their children or siblings should shoulder the cost of running the home is to teach them that life is in cycles and they are obligated to care for them as they will attain such age later on in life. Invariably, it means that one good turn deserves another. However, I believe that this is too much burden on most homes because they are too busy with their life struggles as well. Admittedly, there are compelling reasons why the government should be responsible for all the expenses of the home for the elderly. Firstly, these elderly ones have become senior citizens of the country who have spent their youthful years to grow the economy of the country. Therefore, it is morally justifiable that the British government use their revenue to pay for the services rendered by the nurses to care for them. Secondly, the youths will have no fear of growing old. It gives them an assurance that the government will see to their welfare when they can no longer be active in service to the country. As a result, they put in more effort to see to the development of the nation while they are still young. For instance, economist defines a nation that adopts this method to its citizens as a developed nation. In conclusion, even though people may vary in their opinions on who should pay for the care offered to the aged in the accommodation provided to them in Britain, I believe that the government should take up this responsibility because they contributed positively to the development of the nation when they were younger and to inspire the current adults to do more for the nation, and provide assurance that they will be compensated for their hard work when they retire at old age.