Some children find learning history at school very exciting, but many others think that it is very boring. In what ways can history be brought to life for all school children.

There have been several debates about whether history is an interesting and essential subject in students’ curriculum. Although people have different views and opinions, most young children are not keen on this compulsory subject due to its boredom and monotony. However, history can be made to be more alive, useful and beneficial in life by some changes in educational programs. To begin with, students often dread the thought of sitting for an hour listening to their teacher ramble on, learning heart by heart numerous dates and historical events, which develops the idea of a repetitive and tedious subject. Therefore, teachers should permit students to use the Internet during history lessons to attract attention and create motivation. For instance, instead of learning information from the textbook, students tend to be more passionate in historical films and movies, which often demonstrate events in grandiose and manificents scenes. Teachers can combine history figures and cinematic films together to build up effective and fruitful lessons. Furthermore, I suggest the Ministry of education to organise trips for the students to visit historical places and archeology sites in advance. Seeing the real world of history in person is a useful method for the students to increase their curiosity about stories in the past. As an illustration, when I was a student in grade 6, my class was taken to the Air Defense Museum where they displayed models of planes and helicopters once used in wars. I believed that trip was the one which motivated me to study more about history, to learn how the soldiers sacrificed themselves for our country. In fact, visiting historical sites do a great job in boosting patriotism among young students. In conclusion, taking into account the statement mentioned above, I would say that history plays a quintessential part of our life. Therefore, changing the learning contents in class is the most effective way to bring history to children’s life.