Some believed that zoos can harm animals whereas others found they protect the rare animals.

There are several thousand species available in the world. It will be fascinating to know about them and zoos play a vital role in this. While, there is a preconceived notion that zoos can harm an organisms, it will be beneficial for protecting the rare animals. In the following paragraph I will discuss both the view points and give my opinion. Firstly, keeping animals in cage or closed environment deprive them from their freedom to move. This can prevent them from breeding resulting in decrease in the existing population. Moreover, in many zoos the animals were not given proper care. For instance, they are not receiving suitable food or medical treatment which is leading to many diseases. A survey conducted by students of Cambridge University reports that about half of the zoos do not have essential facilities. Therefore, government organisation must make sure that animals are getting facilities for survival in this captivity. On the other hand, zoos can be a site to protect endangered species. It can be possible by creating a natural habitat for them and keeping a close observation. For example, in India, measures are taken to protect Bengal tigers from poachers who hunt them for skin. Furthermore, conserving such animals can help in maintaining the gene pool and thus preventing them from extinction. A success story published in news paper article about breeding of a panda in Dubai zoos give hopes that zoos can be able to conserve animals. In conclusion, zoos are vital and plays crucial part in preserving the species which can get extinct. Although we should be responsible enough to give care and protection needed for their survival, so, that these animals can be available for our future generations.