Some believe that to reduce the crime rate, prisoners should receive longer prison sentences. In contrast, others think there are alternative ways.

It is widely believed that keeping criminals in prison for a long time could reduce the crime rate but that is not the only way and some people think the alternative ways are better. I personally believe that long prison sentences reduce the crime rate not as good as the alternative ways. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and show the reasons for my opinion. Arresting the criminals in prison is definitely a good and easy way to stop them from doing more bad things. Longer prison sentences mean shorter time in the community, when the criminal is in jail, they obviously can not commit crime and the crime rate would decrease. Many countries agree with this viewpoint and keeping a prisoner in prison for a long time becomes their only punishment beside death sentence. However, in some cases, jail can not hold the prisoner forever and the government has to release their prisoner someday. Even if they keep them there for a long time, they still can commit crime when they are released so the crime rate is not reduced. To defeat the evil in the community, people have to defeat the evilness inside the criminals, holding them in a prison is not enough. In order to do that, the criminals have to realize how bad they are and they have to figure it out by themself how to change. The process to do this is definitely not easy while the prisoners might not have the chance or ability to realize their fault. Because of that, good and wise people who understand them should be beside the criminal. For example, the government should hire psychologists or therapists or some kind of teachers to talk with the criminal to help them defeat the evil inside. And the prisoner should read more books as a compulsory work, some European countries have tried that way and it worked pretty well in reducing the crime rate. In conclusion, I think giving prisoners long prison sentences could hold the criminal but could not change them to be a better person. Some alternative ways like helping them change their mind with books or letting some good people talk to them seem to work better in reducing the crime rate.