Some believe that the government should prevent crime, while others believe that everyone should have a responsibility to protect themselves from wrongdoing. There are rational arguments on both sides of this topic, which we will discuss in detail, and then my opinion on this matter.

Some believe that the government should prevent crime, while others believe that everyone should have a responsibility to protect themselves from wrongdoing. There are rational arguments on both sides of this topic, which we will discuss in detail, and then my opinion on this matter. On the one hand, some people believe that each of us should be concerned about our own safety, since government securities organizations cannot be present in all hotbeds of crime. For example, the police cannot prevent every incident, such as shoplifting, which can happen everywhere and all the time. Consequently, store owners are responsible for taking preventive measures such as installing alarms or cameras in their store. Plus, if customers take care of their belongings, there will be no theft while shopping. Thus, it is clear that everyone is responsible for their own safety. On the other hand, there is a limit to what a person can do on their own. In this respect, only governments can enforce strict laws to control crime rates. Strict laws will become a hindrance and will greatly reduce the crime rate. For example, Arab countries have harsh penalties such as lengthy imprisonment or even the death penalty for every offense. As a result, people are hesitant to break laws, and the crime rate is much lower than in other areas. Consequently, the state must accept responsibility and enforce strict rules that will deter people from committing crimes. In conclusion, there are strong arguments on both sides of the controversy; however, I firmly believe that the responsibility to curb criminal activity lies with the government through the enactment of strict laws.