Some believe that migration is beneficial. Others think that it is risky.

While some individuals argue that moving into a new social environment is a promise of benefits, others oppose the idea claiming that it may pose some potential dangers. This essay will discuss both positions as well as my personal stance. On the one hand, it is logical as some people believe that migrating to a new place can bring about some positive results. For one, it can lead to financial stability among migrants and their families back home, especially if they choose to settle in the first world country like Canada and the USA. Another point is that, they will learn a new culture which can help them broaden their perspective. In the process, they become independent, too, and are able to respect cultural diversity. Hence, migration is equated with a sign of progress. On the other hand, others disagree with the aforementioned argument since they think that moving into a new culture is a risky decision. Primarily, migrants may be exposed to a probability of racism due to the color of their skin, and perhaps because of language barrier. This brings me to my second point. Migrants may suffer from culture shock which can eventually lead to depression and homesickness. Thus, the movement of people from one place to another is not a bed of roses afterall. In my own perspective, migration is both a boon and a bane. It is positive if in the process, I get to alleviate myself and my family financially speaking, and learn wholesome values like good decision-making skills and maturity. Nevertheless, if it leads to personal dilemma and problems with relationship, then it is wise not to pursue this life's journey.