People in the past were using their spare time in better way.

Life in the past and life in present is completely different. People got more free time in past while people in present do not get much spare time. I personally believe that today's generation utilizes their leisure time way better than the people used to do it in past. This essay is going to shed some light on the same. To begin with, we are living in the era of digitalization. People can get whatever they want by a single tap of their finger. Availability of internet to all the citizens has made it easy to learn new skills on various online platforms during their free time. People can now enhance their knowledge and explore new things on the web. To exemplify, most students are using their spare time to improve their knowledge regarding their academics with the help of their smartphones and gadgets. Moreover, health has become a pressing problem for today's society. A trend of joining different clubs or taking regular part in outdoor activities to utilize the leisure time has been observed. People of present wants to remain fit and healthy. They are focusing to do physical as well as mental workout in order to cope up with their daily hectic and restless life. To illustrate this, a survey conducted by TOI revealed that 85% of residents of Mumbai are involved in number of activities for their physical stamina in their idle time. On the flip side, previously people were more inclined to spent some quality time with their family members. They often visited the house's of their friends and loved ones to meet them. They believed in strengthening of human relationships over the materialistic world. To explain this, people in past had very strong and meaningful relations with each-other when compared to relations of today's people. In conclusion, digitalization and desire to remain healthy has led people to indulge in constructive activities to spend their free time. However, due to fast paced life, people are forgetting the importance of human relations with each other. It is suggested that people of current time should also spare some time to maintain and improve their relations with their friends and relatives.