Some believe that it is good for a country's culture to import films and TV programmes, while others think that it is better for a country to have their own films and TV programmes.

There has been many difference of opinion regarding the merits of foreing movies and tv programs to the culture of a country as people believe that domestic products would be better than foreing ones. From my perspective, both of these categories are equally important. On the hand, people usually claim that foreign movies and telecasts can contribute to the cultural diversity of a nation. Fascinating social norms and practices such as public hanging which is common in the USA, can follow the wave to other nations as Hollywood blockbusters are becoming more popular. This phenomenon is believed to benefit the richness of the host country’s traditional backgrounds. Moreover, the important of international movies could perfect the flaws of the country’s sets of beliefs. In Turkey, for example, the ceremony of funerals is often perpetuated with ongoing deprived customs such as gambling and drinking. Since the arrival of the shows from more developed nations, which triggers a new and civilized way of thinking, such as practices have been gradually abolished. On the other hand, it appears to me that producing local movies and programs has the same importance. Citizens of a country would be able to obtain knowledge about their own culture. Apparently, profound insights of traditional values can be conveyed in cinemas on the media if the content is made by local people. The second point to be considered is that this way can relieve the worry of cultural assimilation which has emerged as a detriment to the existence of a country’s traditional beliefs and customs. In fact, if exotic practices are absorbed, it may lead to the oblivion of long-standing ethics that emphasizes the necessity for domestic products. In conclusion, I would argue that both kind of films and TV programs play an equal role in a development of country’ culture.