Some believe that a student’s success is mainly based on the quality of their teaching while others think it has more to do with the student’s attitude.

The debate over a famous saying that "A student is only as good as its teacher", has been a matter of discussion among many. Critics argue that it has more to do with a student's attitude and inner capabilities, indeed, in my mind, I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I shall analyse both points of view and outline benefits and drawbacks for each. On one hand, there are numerous predominant reasons why the success of a student corresponds to the quality of teaching. Firstly, some children suffers from underlying medical conditions that limits their rate of learning severely. In such a case it is the responsibility of the teacher to understand their needs and cooperate with these students. For example, a recent study conducted at Stanford University showed that only 25% of students who are suffering from some mental disorders were able to receive the type of education that they needed in schools or colleges. Secondly, as we live in a very fast pace world, where every year thousands of new technological advancements are made. It is now important more than ever for teachers to make sure that they stay up to date with this growth, because their lack of knowledge could gravely affect the quality of teaching that is being given to children. In stark contrast, it is also very critical for students to keep their a positive attitude towards learning what is being taught. As it is true that no matter how high the standards of teaching are it is fruitless if the learner is not paying any attention. Furthermore, a study done by Oxford University showed that students who did not concentrate in their classes are two fold more likely to fail in their career in the future, when compared to those who did well in class in terms of maintaining good attention. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. From the given arguments and examples I am inclined to say that the success of a student in their career heavily relies on their personal look and interest towards studies.