Some believe children spending time on television and games is beneficial. others don't agree.

Over the past few years with the invention and popularization of new technologies, current generation tends to differ from the people who belonged to the olden era in many ways. While many people have voiced their opinion that the time invested by the kids in watching the television and playing video games can be harmful to them others don't agree and believe that these can be beneficial. I believe, although there are many benefits of the above mentioned activities, certain drawbacks should be considered. Everyone has a favourite pastime which allows the person to indulge in some interesting work and therefore helps to relieve the stress. This holds true for the children as well because after a long day at school he/she feels mentally drained. For instance a preferred cartoon show or a computer game can cheer up the kid. As a result the child feels enthusiastic and pumped up for the day. Furthermore TV programmes can be very informative and games can help them tackle a few situations with their presence of mind. For example in an interview a young boy in my city who won the national science quiz mentioned that some shows related to science helped him answer many questions. However anything done in excess can be the reason for the addiction. This is because many little ones have lost the most precious time of their lives by engaging themselves in addictive games. To illustrate a recent trend of the game called PUBG created a sensation. It became one of the most loved games among the youngesters and also the reason for the untimely deaths of many teens due to excessive exposure. In addition being fascinated and enchanted the juveniles get deviated from their path of education and end up in a miserable state. In conclusion even though there are various flaws of being drifted away and becoming sluggish I believe, technology if allowed to use under parental guidance with restrictions on time periods these can prove to be stress busters and helpful to the kids.