“A friend in power is a friend lost. ” by Henry Brooks Adams? Support your ideas with reasoning and examples.

Like Henry Brooks Adams, I agree that a friend in power is a friend lost. This simple assertion reflects not only my personal experiences, but interactions between people in power both at school and in the business world. I experienced this hard truth twice in my life, once during high school and then again in the business world. Where I lost a friend due to their obtaining a position of authority. My best friend from elementary through middle school was Jessica, the two of us were inseparable, we studied, played and worked together for seven years. At that time, I thought we had developed a life- long friendship, yet I was wrong. Our relationship changed once we entered high school and Jessica became the chairman of the student association. I remember when Jessica won the chairman position, and I planned a celebration party for her. However, she didn't come to the party. For the next few days, I felt that her attitude towards me had changed. I tried to be proactive and invited her to our usual activities, yet she always found some excuse to reject my invitation. At that time, I didn't understand what had changed in our relationship other than she became a chairman. Jessica became more distant towards me till I finally realized she no longer wanted to be friends. Her leadership position had her associate with a new group of friends leaving the old ones behind. Losing a friend does not only happen in school but also in the business world when a colleague rises to a position of power and responsibility. Ten years ago, I worked a part-time job at a retail store. There were eight staff members on one team with one supervisor. I enjoyed working at the store because I made many friends including Amy. Amy and I shared many similar characteristics, and we helped each other out on the sales floor. One day, Amy was promoted to assistant supervisor. After her promotion, Amy began to use her supervisory power to manipulate store policies, such as new scheduling and break policies. She created rules, which only benefited her without considering the other staff members’ perspectives. As a result, I felt extremely aversive to her attitude and shortly thereafter I resigned from the retail store. Our friendship suffered because she was now my supervisor and not my colleague. Based on these two experiences, I firmly believe that a friend in power is indeed a friend lost. I learned from these two experiences that no matter how strong you think your friendship is with the other person, all can change once they obtain a position of power.