Some believe cameras are benfiial whereas other believe it is threat for their freedom. Does advantages outweigh disadvantages

In various urban areas the application of video cameras in public areas has been inclined with the purpose of decreasing crimes but few people think that these measures can threaten one's freedom. This essay will discuss the advantages outshining disadvantages of the above statement. To commence with, there are enormous merits of using video cameras. First and foremost they reduce the crime rates. The cameras hanged on every public place can record any miss happening such as raping, robbery, hit and run case. Hence individual feared of being caught by police so they decline the violation of rules. Apart from this, they also increase the security of the public. Video cameras resist the entry of thieves, robbers as police provide information about the lawful wrong person to security guards who can easily detect the criminal entering public places. Furthermore, they also help to maintain past record for future reference. As there is no memory problem with these cameras one can check even the record of few monts ago to clarify their behalf. In addition to, they help in resolving enormous cases. The video cameras have helped in solving local cases such as theft as well as high court cases like rape case, bankrupt etcetera by providing evidence such as recording. For example, a recent study shows that in india 75% of the cases of robbery are solved with the help of video cameras. On the other hand, there are certain demerits of the video cameras. Predominantly, they can endanger one's privacy. As these cameras record every second of the day and each moment of an individual in a public place, in some way they are taking control over one's private life such that they can record with whom they are spending most of their time or about all the activities one performs in a day. Nextly, they also threaten the right to freedom. As the video cameras in the locality can easily access when a person is leaving home. Also there are certain things that are not socialy acceptable such as gay love, smoking etc. so they cannot do these type of things openly in public places. In conclusion, there are various pros of video camers but also its cons cannot be neglected.