Some are of the opinion that children below the age of 12 shouldn’t be allowed to have a mobile phone. Others believe that mobile phones are a useful tool for children of all ages.

Some people argue that children under the age of 12 years old should not have cell phones. Other people think that cellular telephones can be helpful at that age. This essay agrees with latter view and will elaborate that although these devices can be harmful because of the risk of the addiction, they are very useful because parents can get in touch with their children at any time. On the one hand, mobile phones can be very addictive because of their content. This is because all these devices are connected to the internet and have gaming features, which most of the kids find appealing. They can spend hours browsing the internet, communicating with their friends through social media platforms or playing games, and all of these activities are addictive to humans. One such example is application called the TikTok, which was initially designed for teenagers, became a major hit among young children because of its content. However, I believe smart phones can be beneficial in critical situations. On the other hand, with mobile phones by their side, children can get in touch with their parents at almost all times. That is to say, when a child has a cell phone they can easily get in touch with their parents in case of an emergency. As a result, they can notify their parents about potential tragedies they are about to face, such as natural disasters or even worse, tragedies caused by humans. In the last mass shooting in the United States, for instance, many young lives were saved because students in the primary school used their mobile phones to notify their parents and authorities about the tragedy that was ongoing in their school. For this reason, I think that mobile phones in the hands of children can be valuable source of communication in urgent situations. In conclusion, despite the fact that cellular phones can cause bad habits among children, this essay believes they can be advantageous because parents can communicate with their children in any situation. 8 replies