Some animal shelters put down unwanted pets to end their lives humanely if the are unadopted after some time. with this practice?

I strongly and firmly disagree with the practise to end pets’ lives humanely if they remain unadopted. I believe all pets deserve to live, no matter if they are wanted or not. First of all, if shelters decide that they want to help animals, hey are doing it because they want to save a pets life and would like them to live a good life. If thy take in those animals, just for them to be killed eventually after a few month time, then I would say, why not just leave them in dumpster or the drain, where they were first found. They would be wasting resources on them, but after that, killing them. For the welfare of other animal’s’, an excuse which they commonly use as the rightful reason to do this, would be to simple not accept these animals in the first place. They would be better off in the streets or just dead. At least then they wouldn’t have to go through all the pain, just to die anyway. I think that the shelters could, instead of euthanizing them, neuter them then, release them back to the streets, if they were never a nuisance to begin with and are merely hurt or trapped. If the residents around are annoyed by the presence of stray, the shelter should take them regardless of if they are going to be adopted, or how long they have stayed. After all, the shelter should have accounted for such costs, and the animals are still a life. We shouldn’t decide for them if they should live or not. It should be up to the animal itself, if it were to come to such a choice. Therefore, I would rather release it back to where it were before, and let the animal decided for itself. To conclude, I oppose strongly to ending unwanted pets’ lives. They should be allowed to live, and it should be the duty and obligation of the shelter to ensure, they have the sufficient resources for the animal before they take it in.