Importance of art in schools

Art has shown its presence throughout human history, mainly expressed in the form of sculptures and paintings. A considerable number of people assert that art should be a compulsory part of the school curriculum, while others are staunch opponents of the aforementioned opinion, claiming that art is a useless subject and a complete waste of time. I am in strong support of the former view. Art is an important subject, providing children with a tool to express themselves. For instance, children use art to express their thoughts and feelings through paintings. It is observed that those children who study arts end up more confident and mature in their life compared to those that abstain from art. Hence, teaching art to children while they are in school is vital as it helps them to express their emotions. On the other hand, some people are in complete disagreement with the aforementioned view, believing that studying art is a waste of time for school children as they have more important subjects to study. To add further credence to their argument, they stress the need to include science subjects in school curriculum, as these subjects are more promising for higher salary jobs. For instance, scientists, on average earn more money during their life time as compared to artists who mostly struggle to earn a living. Therefore, if children are taught science subjects, they would end up making a successful career. Submit Task For Review ($15) In conclusion, although some people still believe that art has no role in children's future as it does not lead to a successful career, I am an adamant supporter of the view that art plays a key role in developing children's minds as it provides them with a platform to express their emotions.