SOLUTIONS TO REDUCE THE UNEMPLOYMENT RATE

Although unemployment has always existed, it has risen since the last decades, becoming a more relevant social issue, due to a massive people's movement from rural to urban areas, and the growth of technology that replace human skills. Through government measures that regulate human access to the cities as well as promote employment in the countryside could mitigate the lack of job opportunities. The most critical aspects that have boosted unemployment are the overpopulation in cities and technological progress, particularly the higher number of machines in factories. Firstly, the more inhabitants in the towns, the far more competitive it is to get a new job. Unfortunately, people believe there is a various job offer in great cities, but that has changed. According to an economic report of the World Bank, the unemployment rate in 2019 was three times higher than in 2018, and it was associated mainly with overpopulation in big cities. Secondly, it is well-known that the machines not only can perform human tasks, but also even much more efficiently than human beings. Strict measures could control the leading causes of unemployment mentioned above aim to moderate individuals' flow from rural areas to big cities. In addition, it is not possible to avoid spreading of technology, thus new approaches should encourage less sophisticated jobs in the field. For example, in Argentina, specifically in Buenos Aires province, a number of subsidies with this objective have kept people away from urban centers and demonstrated a beneficial outcome on a higher employment rate. To conclude, the number of people without a job is rising steadily. Not only overpopulation, but also technological advances are boosting unemployment. Therefore, actions should focus on decreasing movement to the most populated regions and promoting less advanced jobs in rural zones.