Sociological evaluation of global cities

Looking at the global cities, there are dispersed economic activities. To gain more profit, big firms disperse, these are transnational corporations. There are lots of headquarters and specialized service firms for those corporations. For example, these specialized service firms are about finance, accounting, public relations and so on. These have task of central function. Also, this specialization reflects global cities. They are different from each other and have different functions. In global cities, there is agglomeration of expertise, firms and talens in specialized firms. There is information city as well. Global cities have a networked service sector. Although global cities are territorialized in nation, state does not interrupt these global city activities. Global cities are controlling and commanding the world economy. Also, specialized service firms hire expertises and not qualified workers. Polarization in two has big gap in terms of inequality. Luxury consumption, displacement of poorer and like these are common in global cities. According to postcolonialism, the global cities perspective overgeneralises and shows mostly top-down city formation. It does not talk about small cities and less developed urban centers, local development of cities and these small cities’ particularities. I think that half of the human population still live in rural areas in the world. These rural areas generally are connected to small cities. Culturally, economically and politically they affect each other. These small cities are to some extent connected to metropolis and global cities. There can be mutually interaction. For example, Ormana village in Antalya takes attention from big cities, even in Ormana there is made into a film, when like some rural areas close to the city center become in the body of city center in time and they also maintain rural properties. So, I think global city perspective is not inclusive perspective. Global-small cities-rurals interaction can be important to capture hidden things about them. Some people in big cities relocate small cities or rurals after retirment to relax and they move their life styles, housing constructions, expectations about city design from municipials and so on. They transforms local areas when migration to big cities affect these areas.