Human beings do not need to eat meat to maintain good health Argue for or against the above opinion.

The hot-buttoned issue of human’s demand for meat has polarized people, and even now, it sparks bitter controversy among top academics. On the one hand, an army of opponents insist that people are best supplied by an animal-free diet. On the other hand, other radicals hold that meat is also an essential element for humans. As far as this argument goes, I support the second viewpoint. One of the most significant contentions opposed to my idea maintains that vegetables have enough nutrients for humans to survive. Various theories have been put forward to prompt researchers to argue that vegetables have enough nutrients for humans. Indeed, what they claim is reasonable. However, vegetables, even supplementary foods, only provide some nutrients for a normal person, those who work by hand or are in high demand for meat products such as fitness coach, athletes…can not be supplied by an animal-free diet. Indeed, my neighbor is a fitness coach; he often eats meat such as chicken, beef…after doing exercise. Children who need calcium for bone development need meat and dairy products. For example, my cousin didn’t eat enough meat; as a result, he suffers from rickets. Furthermore, those defenders of this argument who disagree with my stance may point out that eating meat violates animals' rights. They have their reasons for stating that. Nevertheless, meat products are often processed from bred and raised from reproductive animals such as pigs, chickens, cows, and so on. For instance, it is estimated that over 36% of the world's meat intake is pork and it is is followed by poultry and beef with some 35% and 22% respectively. In conclusion, I pen down by reconfirming that I support the idea of claiming that it is necessary to eat meat. Hence, a diet containing meat should be taken into serious consideration.