society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do.

It is an undeniable fact that laws are the basis of most modern-day societies. Opinions widely vary as to whether the absence of laws and giving excessive freedom to individuals would be destructive in communities. I agree that rules would ensure societies function more properly on the grounds of several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. It is a well-known fact that laws would create a wide range of benefits in societies. In the first place, social order is only possible by enforcing rules in society. Indeed, people need to know what behavior is acceptable and what action is not. For example, people are fined when they pass the red light, or there would be chaos if they refuse to drive in the same direction of the road. Society would be thrown into complete disarray, and thus regulation creates communities' standards. Moreover, people can reap the benefits of rules in their personal lives. In other words, enforcing laws from earlier age helps children to become more organized, punctual, and law-abiding citizens in their adulthood. As a result, individuals and society can function better when given guidelines. Regarding other benefits, it is apparent that laws reduce conflict and guarantee people's security. As a case in point, possession of firearms increasing crime rates, resulting in hazardous consequences. As a result, the more stringent rules are enforced in society, the safer people would feel. In conclusion, I lean towards the idea that legislation plays an integral role in a communities' function and must be strictly followed by every citizen because of creating discipline, stability, and safety.