Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Rules and laws have many implications on citizens’ lifestyle in a discernible way. As the proposal that individuals could do anything based on their personal preferences could hamper the social functioning is legitimate, I totally agree with this view. On the one hand, there are many problems associated with the functioning of society without rules and laws. First, individuals especially those from the young generation could not distinguish what is right or wrong without the teaching of rules, thereby breeding the future offender for some serious crimes. Second, without the existence of regulations and law enforcements from the official authorities, individuals would commit crimes with impunity irrespective of misdemeanors or felonies, acting as a deterrent for the country’s development. For example, Official authorities could freely get implicated in embezzlement and money laundering from the national budgets and not encounter any punishments, possibly culminating in the political, economic and social turmoil in the country. On the other hand, it should be acknowledged that the legislation could guarantee the stability of society. Specifically, regulations could act as an incentive for the decline in crime commissions as perpetrators could take the harsh punishments into consideration. For instance, Vietnamese individuals would be discouraged from ownership of illegally smuggled weapons due to the life imprisonment imposed on people with weapon accessibility, suggesting a causal relationship with the plummet in homicide cases, ensuring the social soundness. In conclusion, Individuals’ freedom to do anything based on their personal preferences could be instrumental in the downturn of society. Official authorities should undertake some practical initiatives to ascertain the law abidingness in citizens for the long-term sustainability of society.