In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Is it necessary to brainwash children that if they work hard, they can accomplish their dreams? Often we observe in some societies that children advised by their parents that success can be achieved if they work hard. This advice brings potential benefits and drawbacks for children. This essay includes the positive impacts such as motivating the children and aware of the importance of efforts, but some negative impacts exist such as pressure and not accepting failure as a lesson. Telling children this as advice holds some benefits. This message can bring motivation to the children to work hard and appreciate the importance of efforts in order to achieve their goals in life. This is simply because children need our guidance and support to inspire them to work hard to be a successful person. Moving on to the next point, this message will make children understand that efforts never get wasted as success does not appear by doing nothing. After considering the advantages, the drawbacks now merit some meaningful discussion. Not only is this suggestion affect the children's emotions but also they will never take failure as a lesson. Suicide commonly happened in developed countries like Japan and Korea as their culture stress this advice and as a result, younger people feel pressure about their achievement. Besides that, our children will never accept failure as a lesson and thinking that once a failure will always be a failure but this is not true because the most successful people often fail before achieving their dreams. To conclude, this message essential for the younger generation so that they will realize being hardworking is one of the keys to success in our life. But in the end, what matters more is that they will always improve themselves and learn that even if they did not achieve their goals, they did their best.