In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

Increasing work hours is a phenomenon that happening in many developed and developing countries. In some cases it is voluntary and you can choose to spend more time at work and in the others it's obligatory and you suppose to work more than the standards. Workers or employees in developed cities choose spending more time at work because of a plethora of reasons. High workload could be an important factor which forces people to work more. The distance between work place and home is also another factor to be considered. For many people it is not economic to pay travel costs for a few hours of work, so they prefer to stay in the office for longer times. Spending more time at work will change your lifestyle and habits. It will cause sleep disorders and the resulting fatigue can damage your mental health. However, it could be more productive as employers whom their employees spend more time at work can create remarkable progressions in much lower times. I believe it could be considered as a negative developement becuase it forces an outstanding pressure to the workers. human body and it's biological limitations do not let the body to work higher than a certain level and after that the body becomes weak and vulnerable. Working policies should consider comfort and ease of workers and employees in my opinion. Allowing day time naps and letting employees to snooze in breaks could be helpful also. As conclusion, I classify the lifestyle of spending too much time at work as a negative development and an undesirable result of emperialism which abuses the workers in order to achive maximum productivity.