In some countries, only a few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

In some places, only a limited number of young people attend classical music concerts or play this kind of music. In my opinion, the reason for this comes from the change in young people’s taste of music, and it is not necessary to encourage them to learn classical music. Music nowadays is diverse in genres, and classical music no longer has the dominant role like in the past. In fact, the majority of young people now pay attention to trendy music types, such as rock, pop and hip hop, and many consider classical music to be a thing of the past. This is the reason why they find no interest in either attending classical music concerts or learning to play this genre of music. In addition, it is not necessary to encourage young people to find out more about classical music since it brings little practical value to their daily lives. The knowledge about classical music contributes almost nothing to most young people’s study and career, and therefore spending time learning it can be a waste of time. In terms of entertainment, many young people now find it more enjoyable listening to pop, rock or R&B rather than classical music. Encouraging them to find out about what is not of their interest may bring no positive results but just reluctance. In conclusion, the major reason why only a few young people attend classical music concerts or play this music genre is the change in their taste of music. I also believe there is no need to encourage them to learn more about classical music due to the little value it brings.