Societies with younger people

Reportedly in some countries, a considerable percentage of the population in their youth. Is it beneficial to society to consist of mostly young people, or it works against its prosperity and growth? The probable answers to this question will be examined in this essay. Firstly, consider a society that includes mostly young adult individuals as the majority of its population. Based on the characteristics that apply to the youngsters, a broader segment of society will be eligible to join the workforce. Since younger people are usually more interested in learning and participating in new activities, there is a higher potential to increase the general educational level of society. Furthermore, since the nation is facing a negligible number of senior citizens, fewer resources and government funds could be appropriated to the public health sector or retirement funds. With deeper scrutiny, it can be seen that certain societal phenomena are more prevalent in particular demographics; For instance, the major percentage of people committing a crime are mostly young. Besides this negative aspect, there are other drawbacks to a younger society, namely lack of experience, which might lead the society into an undesirable situation due to poor decision-making. Considering a sociopolitical perspective, one might argue that even though younger people respond to change in a much more flexible and welcoming manner compared to older ones, but it still can be a struggle to govern a younger group of people and to reach a consensus among them, in terms of policy-making. In conclusion, all societies are facing general issues that are somewhat similar, but a variation in the demographic structure would change the frequency or severity of these obstacles. Considering the aforementioned arguments, a younger society may have a better potential for economic improvements and some social improvements, as long as it does not neglect its senior citizens and their experience.