Should students wear uniforms at schools

In many schools, students are required to wear uniforms at school as a discipline. While some people see this as a great opportunity to create a sense of equality among students, others argue that uniforms will prevent students from showing personal identity. Some supporters suggest that wearing uniforms is beneficial for students. To begin with, school uniforms bridge the gap between the rich and poor people. If the students could choose their own clothes to wear at school, conflict and judgment between the students from high incoming families and low incoming families will arise. So, wearing uniforms is an effective way to solve these issues by reducing the comparison and helping the students focus on their studying. In addition, with the same appearances when wearing uniforms, students could be easier to start up a friendship, not worrying about how they look or have to wear the latest trendy clothes. Students feel closer to their classmates and could help each other to study better. However, some students don't like the uniforms because they think uniforms cause them discomfort and they want the freedom to express themselves through their clothing choices. If they could wear comfortable and normal clothes during all hours at school, they might focus on lessons from their teachers and adapt the knowledge more easily. Furthermore when they choose their clothes, they could find new passions and learn skills for their future jobs. In conclusion, school uniforms have pros and cons and the debate on this continues. But one thing’s for sure, wearing uniforms at school has become popular and is still one of effective methods for applying to students at school.