Social networking websites improve international relationships

The extended use of social networking websites has definitely changed the way people communicate and interact with each other or the way they shape their interpersonal relationships. Social media has effectuated both benefits and disadvantages in our everyday lives. Some people believe that one of the advantages of platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter is that they can improve international relationships. Personally, I strongly agree with particular opinion. If you are connected with people from other countries online, you are able to get accustomed with them. While you are connecting with citizens of other countries, you came close to their way of thinking and their point of view. You are both able to explain to each other the reasons for your actions or thoughs and you know in depth. As a consequence, the existing stereotypes between inhabitants of different countries may be overturned. Furthermore, social media gives the possibility to their users to share their personal experiences or their opinions on issues that concern. In practice, people get familiar with the habits of other peoples, with their customs and traditions as well. As a result, other people do not seem foreign for them. They can also perceive that they have more similarities than difference and many rivalries occur because of the interests of governments. All in all, it seems that although social media bring some disadvantages, they can improve foreign affairs while they give the opportunity to people to communiciate with each other and exchange opinions.