environment and the local people

It is true that the number of tourism in the remote areas has been expanded. Even though this trend can create beneficial impacts on the life of local residents and the environment. I believe that this trend also has detrimental effects on the environment and the local people. On the one hand, the local people and the habitat can benefit from the tendency of tourists to remote areas and community. Firstly, it creates more employment opportunities and enhances living standards of the local residents. For example, they can earn money by providing services such as food, transportation, accommodation and selling souvenirs to tourists. Moreover, they can increase their income by becoming a guide leading tourists to visit and learn about local cultural history. Secondly, in order to get an increase in tourist arrivals and maintain income, local people will be more environmentally conscious as well as stimulate interests and involvement in conservation. Government and local people can use part of their income to preserve the environment and improve the quality of the environment such as increase forest cover or upgrade national parks, organize activities to raise awareness about environmental protection On the other hand, this trend would bring detrimental effects on the environment and the local people. Firstly, tourists use a number of natural resources such as water, energy and this puts pressure on the environment. Moreover, cans and plastic bags are freely disposed of at the tourist sites which directly affect the local people’s living conditions. Besides, The habitats of numerous wild plants and animals have been lost due to the cutting down of trees to serve the construction of commercial centers, hotels or resorts…. . Secondly, the visitors can have disrespectful behavior to the customs of local people. In addition, visitors from various cultures can provide ethnic people in remote areas with a lot of exotic cultures and lifestyles through their interactions with one another, which can lead these local residents to experience tension and disturbance from tourists. In brief, the rapid growth in the number of people who are interested in visiting remote areas could bring about both advantages and disadvantages to the local people and the environment.