Social Media websites have amassed large user bases, and have become the sole source of information for their users. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, Internet has become an essential need for every individual’s life. Moreover, these websites are the only source of knowledge for many users and it has become an important part in their daily life. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks along with my opinion at the end. Firstly, social media websites are accessible everywhere across the world. Especially, irrespective of the age group and gender nowadays these websites can be used more frequently to transfer the data and it is very fast. For Instance, social media such as Twitter and Telegram are more popular websites in every nation. Secondly, many people can constantly connected with each other around the globe with the help of internet and it has become a major source for communication and interaction. For Example, Whatsup plays a crucial role to interact with a person who stays aboard with the help of internet. Thirdly, all the latest news is becoming more viral nowadays through these sites compare to other news channel on television. In fact, every person are using smart phones and other electronic gadgets such as YouTube where anybody can share the updates through their channels. In contrast, social media have major drawbacks which will be described. Surprisingly, due to excessive use of social media it is impacting physical fitness issues and social life. Particularly, young generation are suffering from obesity and eyesight issues. Next, in todays world, many individuals are facing a lot of privacy issues and their confidential data is getting revealed. To illustrate, many celebrities accounts are created fake in Instagram without their knowledge. In conclusion, I personally believe that social media websites have more merits such as easier and convenient life. Although there are few drawbacks but more importantly, it is flexible and accessible.