Social media such as Facebook, Twitter is replacing face-to-face contact in people's lives.

With the growing fame of social networking sites, there is less one-to-one interaction among people. There is no denying that this is a positive change to create a global identity, however, the disadvantages of using social media for connecting with each other outweigh the advantages. The evolution in communication sector has changed the way people connect with each other, replacing face-to-face contact. As a person is on another side and unseen while communicating online, no importance is given to body language and facial gesture, which plays a critical role in building confidence, developing interpersonal skill sets, working in teams. Hence, such kind of communication method has a potential to create a generation of people lacking these skills. The Internet-based social media has created a platform to connect with anyone globally regardless of physical miles. While chatting with a person sitting on the other side of the world, we often forget to converse with our neighbors. It is foolish to make a strong bond with someone who may not be available to help you out from any critical situation. On the other side, neighbors stay just next door, easily approachable in the case of an emergency condition. Hence, it does not make sense to be engrossed in surfing social sites all the time. Instead, it is wise to be more social to build a local community. As Facebook and Twitter do not offer face-to-face contact, we need to rely on information provided in profile by strangers which need not be true. Many, especially teenagers, spell out details about who they are to a complete stranger on the other side. This interaction may put them in a dangerous situation. Hence, precautionary measures should be taken before making relation with a completely unknown person on the internet. Overall, apart from creating a global social circle, there is no benefit of using social media, such as Facebook and Twitter. No face-to-face interaction while interacting with others has many disadvantages at an individual front such as lacking interpersonal skill, missing being locally social to create a strong society, putting self in a critical place by chatting with strangers.