Social media negative impact on people

To begin with, communication is one of the soft skills of mankind. To not lose connections, people started to keep interactions from the early centuries. Till the 2000s, people used diverse methods for gaining new information and communicating. While they made an effort to communicate face-to-face in the early years, long-distance letters and pictures helped them form bonds. With the development of technology, their communication has become easier. Telegrams, first phones, TV, and newspapers were the initial tools that made communication straightforward. However, innovations have emerged in social media, that help people get new information and faster, easier communication. For instance, the emergence of new sites such as Instagram, Facebook, Snapchat, and Twitter has made our lives easier and more fun. Many interesting videos and photos are posted on these sites, liked, and commented on by viewers. Although people do believe that social media sites have many benefits for humanity, they do not consider the negative consequences, which can lead to depression, sleep problems, and decreased self-esteem. First and foremost, users of social networking sites claim that spending some time on Instagram or Facebook helps them relax and, sometimes, have fun. However, research conducted in 2016 showed that usage of social media platforms causes depression and anxiety. There were many reasons for this. The first reason is cyberbullying, which is cited as one of the biggest problems on social media. For example, a child or adult posted a new photo on their page. Many people would not like this post and begin writing abusive words. Such an attitude towards the user will make him feel worried and depressed. Thoughts about the time spent on social networking can also cause anxiety. While a person spends most of his time watching movies on Safari or posts on Instagram or Facebook, he can go for a walk with his friends, do the tasks given by the instructor or manager, or spend time with his family. Nevertheless, many users do not even take that into account while using social media. Only after he puts away technologies, he thinks about the moments that he missed. As a result, this makes him feel concerned. Nowadays, people spend the most time on social media sites by watching many different videos or news. They do not watch at the time as their attention is taken by interesting information. However, a lack of time tracking can cause problems. According to the research conducted by Levenson (2017), people who are active in social media have sleep issues. To find out the reasons, he provided users with questions and, after getting and analyzing answers, they found out that 30% of respondents who are active on social media have insomnia. There are many reasons for such a situation, and TikTok is considered one of the causes of the problems with sleeping. This site provides the user with the tool "recommendation", where there are many different types of videos that he or she may like more. As long as the utilizer likes it, he continues to watch them even if it is late and does not feel how his body is tired. Also, the majority of users are teens and adults, which means that most of them have to get up early to go to school, university, or jobs. Sleeping too late and getting up early means that there is a lack of sleep, which is the reason for sleeplessness. Last but not the least, according to some studies, social media sites are the best option for helping people improve their self-image (Tazghini & Siedlecki, 2013). However, research made by Chen and Lee (2013) argued with this statement, claiming that the usage of Facebook causes stress and anxiety, which leads to a decline in self-esteem. Competition between other users is cited as one of the major causes of people’s low satisfaction with themselves. For example, there are two posts made by two different Facebook users. While the first has a huge number of likes and good comments, the second’s is not even viewed. The second person will have different thoughts about himself, such as "Why does he have more likes than me? " or "Am I so ugly that they even do not look at my photos? ". Moreover, cyberbullying can also be a cause of decreased self-esteem. There are many people in the world who wish to harm others, and social media cannot be free of such individuals. Phil Jones, the footballer, can be taken as a victim of being bullied on Instagram, Facebook, and other social networks. "Funny Defender" or "Stop playing football" are the phrases that can be seen under his posts. After such bullying, the player began to watch the games of his club from the stands more often than to play himself.