There is no doubt that most interactions/conversations among people are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is a common belief that most people nowadays all use social media to interact with others. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages of talking with each other via social media will be analyzed in more depth. On the one hand, chatting online can have some merits. Firstly, everyone can easily connect anytime and everywhere. To clarify, in the present day and age, young people always easily interact with their friends through social media such as facebook, instagram, messenger, twitter, etc. As a result, they can save time to work on more important things, they do not have to see each other to talk. Secondly, anyone also uses online platforms to interact with relatives and friends. It is clear that people studying abroad can easily facetime with their parents and friends no matter how far away they are. Therefore, they will not have to spend too much money to meet people and it will not take too long to share stories with each other. On the other hand, talking with online platforms can bring some demerits. The first thing is that personal information is easily stolen on social platforms. It is obvious that in today’s modern society, information about an individual is easily stolen by the bad elements of society and today’s social platforms do not control that yet. Thus, they will face many risks from this trend and their personal information will be used for improper purposes. The second thing is that people are too dependent on talking online. In other words, they devote too much time talking online and face to face interaction will reduce and many relationships will become worse. In conclusion, although talking online causes some worrying issues, chatting online still makes a contribution to human societies.