Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy.

It is irrefutable to say that social media is playing an important role today; it has not only made communication easier, but also faster and more reliable. Social media marketing can be defined as the use of social media to communicate and increase brand value. Some people are of the opinion that social media marketing influences what consumers buy, however there are a few who would argue otherwise. A recent study shows that 50% of the public have a social media presence. This makes it easy for brands to target a large chunk of people via various networking sites. Moreover, algorithms are used to display recurring advertisements based on the user's recent search history; this makes online marketing more effective. To illustrate further, a recent study proved that 35% of youngsters in the age group of 19 to 28 years were more likely to buy a product when an advertisement is displayed multiple times on different platforms. Older people may not be well acquainted with the internet. Some may even be averse to social networking sites, thus the target community of marketing online usually excludes the older age group. For example, a study shows that 40% of them prefer shopping in brick and motor shops rather than doing the same online. Hence, it is clear that this is more of a long term perspective, where social media impact will be huge on Millenials and not on older generations. To sum up, social media marketing influences what consumers buy, companies all around the world are monetizing on this and have successfully increased their brand reach and value. However, the target population may not entirely include people above the age of 50 years.