An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

The increasing percentage of children who are obese is an alarm which alerts about the extremely adverse effects of it on their health and the expenditure on health treatments once they grow old. However, some measures can be taken to alleviate this problem. The entire world is now in the captivity of delicious delicacies. Children are juvenile and impressionable; consequently, easily allured by the food products which are although mouthwatering but unhealthy for them. On top of it, continuous and catchy advertisements of fast-foods and sweets on the television pollute these innocent minds and they start craving for trying them. For instance, a lot of kids show stubbornness to their parents so as to have chocolates every now and then. There is no shadow of doubt in the fact that obesity is hazardous to human health; it causes many chronic diseases such as diabetes, high blood pressure or even heart attack. Needless to mention, these may not be the immediate response of obesity but in the long run the possibilities of falling into serious health issues are high. Furthermore, though with medical advancements, treatments have become easier, quicker and safer, they cost excruciating. Nonetheless, there are some steps which can be taken by governments as well as individuals to deal with this problem. Governments with the help of health organizations must carry out some campaigns in schools to make children aware of the hazardous effects of obesity. At the same time, parents should not leave any stone unturned in assuring that their children eat healthy and hygienic foods in their regular diet. To conclude, I would assert that as children are immature to understand the importance of health, it is the responsibility of governments and parents to make sure they maintain their fitness.