Social media is used as the most common mode of communicating with each other by everyone. Certain people believe it is a good development. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Most people prefer to opt for virtual modes, like social media websites for sending and receiving messages to each other. It is considered to be a positive evolution by some individuals. Although it has advantages and disadvantages both, in my opinion, the benefits of this certainly outweigh the drawbacks in a long run. The impending essay will discuss both the aspects of the same. There are multiple benefits associated with conveying message over social media. Firstly, transferring any sort of information online using applications saves significant amount of time as it uses wireless medium and can be easily accessed within seconds around the globe. Another prominent merit is that secrecy is maintained in messages since these services are end to end encrypted and it is not possible for any third party to penetrate into the conversations. For example, famous messaging application, WhatsApp is protected with encryption and the conversations are only visible to the parties involved. Global connectivity, moreover, has become another reason of this sort of communication being favoured by everyone. This is because internet, which is the main requirement, is available everywhere and connects devices together worldwide. For instance, applications like zoom connect professionals all around the world over one platform. On the other hand, this phenomenon has certain drawbacks as well, lack of personal touch being the first one. To elaborate, any sort of connection which is built virtually might not be very emotion driven since there is no personal bond and thus, not very reliable as a relationship. For example, friends who have only spoken through various social media applications tend to have a lower comfort equation with each other when they meet for the first time. Furthermore, extensive use of virtual networking is a major reason behind the flourishing of cyber crime during recent times. Given to the immoral and illegal usage of such networks, multiple users fall prey to cyber bullying exposing their personal information to the hackers. To exemplify, number of fake social media profiles are created which are first used to connect with strangers and then to blackmail them for various immoral activities. In conclusion, it has become extremely common to use social media to build connections around the globe. This has its own drawbacks like vulnerability towards cyber crime and emotionally disconnected bonds, but the benefits like cost cutting, time saving and wider connectivity make it worth for users. Thus, in my opinion, advantages of connecting via virtual networking definitely outweigh its disadvantages