Companies such as Facebook, Amazon and Google are becoming incredibly large, powerful and profitable. Some people think that these companies should be broken up to ensure competition in the market. Others feel that breaking up big tech is not appropriate.

Tech companies such as Google, Amazon and Facebook are becoming the most powerful and influential corporations of the 21st century. Many people feel that these companies need to be broken up to ensure a more competitive environment. However, I think that breaking up these companies is not the best option. Admittedly, there are situations in which it might be appropriate for big tech companies to divest certain parts of their businesses. An obvious reason for this is that some of these companies are monopolizing certain industries, which is resulting in a few companies having too much influence over markets and our lives. For example, Facebook could be forced to give up control of Instagram or Whatsapp seeing that it currently controls almost the entire social media market, giving it influence over the data and dissemination of news and information to more than two billion people. However, a 20th century style breakup of big tech companies is not the best course of action. Having one company being the best in a certain technology-related field is actually a good thing. Fantastic free products like Google’s maps or search engine have made life much easier. Nobody wants to use the fourth best navigation app, and nobody is binging anything. Splitting up a company like Google would either result in an inferior quality search engine or people quickly identifying the best product, leading to a return to a single dominant market leader very quickly. In conclusion, in certain contexts, the monopolistic nature of certain companies means that limits should be placed on what actions these giant companies should and should not be able to do. However, a total breakup of these companies would likely not have the intended results and would detract from the benefits that these companies bring to our lives. Therefore, I believe that breaking up big tech companies completely is not an appropriate course of action