Social Media is the real cause of teenage depression. How far and present some ways to overcome depression.

Since the turn of the 21st century, the contention of social media impairing teenagers has caught the society’s attention. Although some believe internet platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and Tiktok, are the major root of teenage depression, others advocate negation to this idea and I stand together with them. As a teenager, I believe that social media has a number of impacts on my daily life, however, not all of them are abominable. Firstly, never before had technology profoundly influenced the global population, especially the younger generation who spend plenty of their time surfing the internet, with consequences of isolation, unhealthy sleep schedule, etc. Additionally, in the eyes of elderly populace, it seems like these platforms are activating sedentary life style as teenagers usually stay in their rooms using social media instead of going out like in old days. Due to this generation gap, they chide these internet platforms account for all of the mental issues, not acknowledging other stressful problems and difficulties that we have to encounter. Furthermore, social networks offer more awesome advantages than dismal disadvantages. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, social media becomes not only the easiest but also the safest communicating form. Moreover, according to the Oxford University’s research, foreign students or workers who use social media to communicate with families are less likely to deal with depression than who do not. Social media can be a plethora of information for countless categories and plus, there are even online communities which support depressed individuals, creating a warm environment. In the aggregate, as each human being has problems of their own, not only just social media, which can lead to a depressive life and consulting with professional therapists, following their medical instructions, meditation and keeping in touch with loved ones might debase depression.