Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. What are advantage and disadvantage of that?

People of all ages use social media nowadays. There is a possibility of risk when we share personal information in these sites. People can gain knowledge and information by sharing information and knowledge but sharing personal details involves risks. On one hand, there are a number of advantages to people by sharing their private details. Firstly, it helps people find like-minded persons in the global community. This will help them to share knowledge and discuss their common interest and may result getting a good companion. Secondly, sharing personal information in common platform will help people fulfill their needs. For instance, when we search for a product in Facebook it will automatically generate numerous sites for buying this product at the best price. On the other hand, children frequently become victims of cyber bullying by sharing their details with unknown person on social media. It becomes the key to online predators to exploit children and involve them in criminal activity consequently spoiling their future. Another possible issue is cyber hacking. Even though social media has strong anti-malware, sometimes there are breaches. For example, if Facebook is hacked, all your personal photos and chats will be open for the public. As a result, you may get a threat call for money or it can be misused in any other form.