Many students take part time jobs while studying at university. Do you think its a good idea or a bad idea?

Nowadays, many university students prefer to take part- time employment at near by eateries or petrol pump to support themselves. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I intend to discuss the positive and negative sides to this. However, I believe the positive outweighs the negative effect. Firstly, securing a part-time job is important for students, especially international students because it gives a boost to their self-esteem. When the student starts university, he/she is at a tender age of 18, unaware of the challenges they would encounter. This step would give them the confidence to face the outside world. In addition to this, it would give a sense of financial independence when they start fending for themselves. Furthermore, the parents would also not feel financially burdened especially for internationally students. Parents back at home take student loans to send their children abroad for their studies. They find it difficult to keep up with the living expenses of foreign countries, at times the living expenses per month for the child exceeds their monthly income. Hence, if the child gets a temporary job, it is a win-win situation for both the parents and kids. However, there is another side to the story. Students with the intention of earning more money especially in foreign currency neglect the sole purpose of their visit i. e. , study harder and create a bright future. For instance, my cousin had gone to the United States for his master’s degree and to support his living expenses he took up a job at Burger King. He was earning quite a lot in dollar and the greed to earn more led him to undertake double shifts that ultimately resulted in suspension of his term since he did not attend lectures. Tus to recapitulate, it is good to take up part time employment to bear one’s living expenses, but it is crucial to maintain a balance between the two and not fall prey to earning a quick buck at the expense of neglecting the matriculation program.