social media and youngsters

In recent times, due to the highly-technological world in which we live, and the state-of-the-art communications provided by the internet, youngsters have diminished their face-to-face interactions. Indeed, there is now convincing evidence that supports the importance of fostering in-person meetings for their emotional literacy and their adequate development. In this essay I shall expose the reasons and possible solutions to be tackled. To begin with, to nail down the reason we have to see it from the widest possible spectrum. It is well-known by many people that current teenagers have grown as digital natives and, therefore, their leisure time and online activities are strictly interwoven. In this line, they not only have associated the thrill of social interactions to internet, but also, they have fomented an appalling idea when it comes to real-life experiences. To illustrate, it has been overwhelmingly revealed by the University of Murcia that young people have experienced more negative reinforcements in face-to-face interactions than the underwent in online meetings. This, inexorably, have driven kids to elude the mentioned relationships. A pertinent solution that could be taken might be the reduction of these digital interactions through parental monitoring. Moreover, schools play an extremely important role since they have an extraordinary opportunity to foment social interactions. For instance, by rising the number of excursions to breathtaking places or even creating group events, it is highly likely for youngsters to feel a comfortable atmosphere which generates a positive reinforcement. In conclusion, I strongly believe that had it not been for rude situations that real-life interactions possess, many children would spend more time out of the computers. As a consequence, we have to foster healthy relationships between them in order to decrease these detrimental hours in which they are glued to the screen.