Science is advanced so fast that it can now make it possible for people to live 100 years or even 200 years. Some people think it is beneficial, while others think it will cause problems.

Latest scientific advancements in healthcare has ensured people to live more than 100 years. In my opinion, although longer life span may cause faster consumption of world sources, it enables old people to guide their younger family and enjoying their retirement ages for a longer period. First and foremost, many people argue that longer life duration could create issues due to the faster consumption of natural sources. This is because when people live in the world longer, rapid drop in natural sources such as oil, gas or water would threaten the existence of humanity as these sources are essential for the continuation of people. To illustrate, after natural sources diminish, people will face difficulties to heat their houses or drink water. However, these issues can be solved as the usage of natural sources such as oil and gas have been switching to electricity or renewable sources and with technological developments water sources can now be acquired from the sea. Consequently, even though longer lifespan may threaten the level of natural sources and the existence of humankind at first sight, these problems can be handled with the usage of alternatives. On the other hand, I believe that living longer is a positive development for the civilisation since elderly people will have more time to spend with their loved ones. Considering this, old people can see their grandchildren, children or live together with their partners longer, hence they can assist their younger members of the family with their life expertise. For instance, when an old lady lives until 120 years old with her husband, she will give more advice to her children about career or personal relationships, she can enjoy retirement ages with her partner and she can spare more time for the flourishment of her granddaughter. As a result, longer lifetime enables people to enjoy the life with their family longer which would be beneficial for everyone. To sum up, the lifespan of people has been getting longer with the developments in healthcare, and it provides seniors to continue their life in peace with their family. Despite the anticipation of a higher consumption of vital resources with longer life duration, there are alternative solutions that could prevent the situation.