Smoking in public places should be banned. Discuss.

It is a well-known fact that smoking is injurious to ones' health yet many are addicted to smoking. People addicted to smoking do not consider the adverse health effects occuring to those present around them. This is one of the various reasons which is why most think that smoking should be banned in public places. To begin with, many people are already suffering from breathing issues and lung diseases due to the excessive pollution present in the atmosphere. Smoking in public places is like adding more salt to the wound. Smokers are accustomed to the smell of the nicotine but the surrounders are not. Smoking in public places can adversely affect the health of especially the elders and children. Another reason is that smoking in public places leads to the passive smoking which is just as harmful and dangerous as active smoking. Passive smoking can lead to diseases such as lung cancers. Also, the smell of cigarettes and cigar creates a foul odour in the atmosphere and the people surrounding that area might face a problem in breathing. The smell can be intoxicating to which people might avoid going to outdoors for their work purposes. Instead of completing banning, a common ground can be found. The government can allot a few areas as smoking zones where people who want to smoke can visit there. Also, strict rules can be implemented and fines can be charged to those who smokes in a non-smoking area. In sum, a common solution can be drawn so that it does not affect the sentiments and health problems of the majority as well as the minority which are the smokers. Therefore, all the issues of adverse effects of smoking in public places must be considered and a general solution must be drawn.