Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

Physical abuse in children is extremely popular in certain countries around the world. These people think that the best way to educate their children is by slapping them. Although their worrying is understandable, this essay will argue why it is vital for parents to get more informed in regards to the importance of mental health issues and smacking. Strict parents have always thought that their children will grow up to be more independent and intelligent if they force them to do particular things that they show no interest in. It is true that parents want the best for their children. For that reason, parents are constantly worried for their children’s whole being and their only wish is to see them succeed in every aspect of their lives. Some studies have shown that this type of discipline makes children more shy, obedient and more aware of their surroundings. These are characteristics that all parents want their children to have. Other studies have also shown a correlation between problematic adults and parental negligence. Those instances have bolstered existing fears in parents that their children may become mentally damaged if they do not use physical abuse on them. Despite parents’ obvious desire of seeing their children accomplish a lot during their lifetime, it needs to be understood that being physically abusive towards a child will not make him/her more productive in adulthood. Parents’ strict discipline towards their child makes the latter withdraw emotionally from the former and even from their peers. Those children may grow up to be self-conscious about their social skills due to their parents’ criticism, which can lead to poor performance in the workplace. Most of them need therapy in order to perform well not only in the company they work at but also on a daily basis. Self-consciousness and self-doubt are related to depression. There are too many examples of people experiencing clinical depression later in life due to their parents’ mistreatment during a young age. Overall, the idea that one needs to be strict so that his/her child becomes successful is ill-informed and dangerous because it affects the mental health of those innocent children. In conclusion, this essay argued that parents who abuse their children have a flawed understanding of mental illnesses and disorders. It has been proven that this misconception has bad consequences in children’s lives. In my opinion, smacking youngsters is the worst way to educate your child, although it may seem to benefit them during their childhood.