Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food is one of the essential requirement of all livening creatures and getting good quality nutritious food is everyone’s basic right. Companies and organization transport food around the globe to distribute to the consumers. Few individuals think utilizing food items available on the local habitat is good for the environment, as well as it helps to achieve the financial stability and I totally agree with this view. In the following essay I will explain why I support this point of view. Currently majority of edible items are transported around the world and it can take up to months to reach from the producing region to consumers destination. For this transportation companies are mainly depends on different methods like sea, road and air cargos and all these modes are primarily utilize fossil fuels like petroleum or diesel. Main cause of the global warming is due to the carbon monoxide and other micro particles emitted from these transportation methods. If people start utilizing locally available products the transportation requirement get reduced and eventually it will help to reduce the global warming and increase the stability of the environment. Majority of the local food items can reach to the customers swiftly form the farms to end users because both live in the same geographical area. But food transported in long distance require to preserve it properly using food using preservation methods or chemical processing otherwise these good may spoiled quicky, and by doing this it will automatically increase the price of the food products. Secondly shipping from long distance is a costly operation and end of the day consumers have to pay for the transportation cost. But on the other side locally grown food items does not require much transportation cost. For example transporting goods from Japan to US will be more costly compared to transporting inside US. Preserved food items may contains pesticides or chemicals and it can cause diseases in long term and finally people may have to spend huge money for medicine to get cured. There are numerous advantages for home grown food items especially for supporting the environment and as well as economically to the consumers. Based on the arguments outlined above I strongly support benefits of locally grown food items are much better than transported items from different regions.