SMACKING CHILDREN IS THE BEST FORM OF DISCIPLINE.

In this day and age, there have been considerable changes in the way to educate children. While a sizable number of people hold a firm belief that the best form of penalty is corporal punishment, others might have the opposite view. However, I am strongly convinced about the latter point of view for the following justifications. The primary reason is that smacking brings innumerable detrimental effects on children’s physical well-being. This could be further explained by the fact that this form of punishment when it comes to the rules is cruel if the roles and responsibilities of adults in educating citizens are considered. In other words, the use of cane or yardstick to penalize for being negligent in their study or disobedient, in many cases, has caused students serious physical injuries. To illustrate this, there was a recent study carried out in South Korea in 2018, which polled over ten thousand teenagers. It stated that 80 percent of them admitted being penalized with this exercise of punishment by their parents. Another drawback worth mentioning is that this form of discipline is harmful to youngster’s mental health. As a matter of fact, pupils could misconceive that violence can tackle the problem. It does mean the understanding of educational purposes is distorted posing a threatening issue for students. Understandably, scholars are afraid of being punished for embarrassment or apprehension, which is the reason why they either refuse to communicate or make any infinitesimal mistakes. To illustrate this, a majority of undergraduates abused avoid going to schools when they have more problems with their activities. However, by stark contrast, some may argue that corporal punishment is the most suitable form of penalty thanks to its efficiency. This is because the impact of this method tends to be long-lasting, which plays a vital role in educating juniors. Without a doubt, corporal punishment creates an opportunity to avoid repeating their errors. Only when youngsters are strictly trained are they capable of growing their personal development. According to convincing statistics, corporal punishment is believed to equip people with experience by half of the readers of a Vietnamese magazine. In conclusion, although physical discipline is widely thought to be beneficial, I hold the opinion that its drawbacks outweigh the advantages it may bring due to the irrefutable above-mentioned merits.